Integrating iPad Applications to Support Struggling ReadersISTE 2013 Mini-WorkshopTuesday, June 2512:30 - 2:00
This hands on workshop will help educators understand iPad applications and creative ways to effectively use the iPad in their classrooms to support struggling readers and writers in the primary and intermediate grades. Participants are encouraged to try out the applications and create sample projects to share.

Free Book!!


Suggested applications…

Apps for Assessment -
A+ Spelling Test – Free - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/a+-spelling-test/id501211008?mt=8
Inspiration Maps (Lite) – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/inspiration-maps-lite/id510031612?mt=8
Popplet Lite – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/popplet-lite/id364738549?mt=8
Quick VoiceFree - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/quickvoice-recorder/id284675296?mt=8
Socrative Clicker for Teachers - Free - (Please set up account) http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/teacher-clicker-socrative/id477620120?mt=8
Socrative Clicker for Students – Free - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/student-clicker-socrative/id477618130?mt=8
Spelling City – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/spellingcity/id538407602?mt=8


Apps for Creation - (You can choose 1 of those marked with an * and 1 marked with a ^)
Camera - built in to iOS
Photo Album - built in to iOS
^ Book Writer - $3.99 - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/book-writer-ebook-pdf-creator/id481160195?mt=8
iBooks – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ibooks/id364709193?mt=8
^ Book Creator for iPad® - $4.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/book-creator-for-ipad/id442378070?mt=8
* Educreations – Free - (Please set up account) http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/showme-interactive-whiteboard/id445066279?mt=8
Notability - $1.99 - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/notability-take-notes-annotate/id360593530?mt=8
Poetry Creator – Free - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/poetry-creator-verses-poetry/id371925480?mt=8
Poetry Magnets – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/poetry-magnets/id369944301?mt=8
* ShowMe Interactive Whiteboard – Free - (Please set up account) http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/showme-interactive-whiteboard/id445066279?mt=8
Toontastic – Free - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/toontastic-play-create-learn!/id404693282?mt=8
VoiceThread – Free - (Please set up account) http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/voicethread/id465159110?mt=8


Additional Paid & Free Applications to Support Learning - (We will explore some of these and more if there is time)
BrainPop Featured Movie – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/brainpop-featured-movie/id364894352?mt=8
Dropbox – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dropbox/id327630330?mt=8
Edmodo – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/edmodo/id378352300?mt=8
iMovie - $4.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/imovie/id377298193?mt=8
iTunesU - Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/itunes-u/id490217893?mt=8
Join Me – Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/join.me/id409811927?mt=8
Jumbled Sentences - $0.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jumbled-sentences-for-kids/id509496065?mt=8
Merriam-Webster Dictionary – Free - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/merriam-webster-dictionary/id399452287?mt=8
Milly & Molly books - $2.99 - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/milly-molly-and-the-tree-hut-hd/id378232187?mt=8
Overdrive - Free - https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/overdrive-media-console-library/id366869252?mt=8
Sentence Builder - $5.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sentencebuilder-for-ipad/id364197515?mt=8
Smarty Pants School - $9.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/smarty-pants-school/id403824279?mt=8
Speak it! Text to Speech - $1.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/speak-it!-text-to-speech/id308629295?mt=8
Starfall ABCs - $2.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/starfall-abcs/id395623983?mt=8
Super Why! for the iPad® - $3.99 http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/super-why!-for-ipad/id362179828?mt=8
Talk'n Photos - $2.99 - http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/talkn-photos/id502043039?mt=8